Posted by: getthenac | February 16, 2010

Sweets…again?

from Rhonda Kelley

As Kathy stated, today happens to be Fat Tuesday. In other words, a day of celebrations and eating what you want before you decide to give it up for 40 days of Lent. If you don’t participate in Lent, perhaps it’s just another Tuesday filled with wonderment of a silly name for another weekday.

Each year, I attempt to give up something I tend to overdue. Each year, just by chance that happens to be sweets. Cookies, cakes, pies, candy…you name it, I need to give it up. You would think at some point I would realize that I always give up the same thing and perhaps the rest of the year I should focus more on eating fewer sweets. Unfortunately, I have never been able to do this. Although I’m much better than I used to be in my teenage years and I consider myself healthy, I still have a bit of a sweet tooth.

So, tonight I will put all those Girl Scout cookies in the freezer and I will be disappointingly watching everyone else engage in all the goodies at staff meetings, birthday gatherings, and weekend outings for the next 40 days. I’m sure my mouth will water several times as I pass the birthday cake and remind my friends and family  “I’m not eating this for Lent, remember?” I’m also sure several times I will silently ask myself “Why am I doing this again?”

This year is different though. I’ve added a few things to my list of sacrifices including the occasional weekend fried foods, red meat and reading some self help books every night that are collecting dust on my shelf. This is all in hopes that I engage in some excellent habits over the next 40 days and next year I won’t have to think…what should I give up? Sweets…again?

Responses

  1. I am right there with you, Rhonda. I gave up cookies and carbonated drinks. Do you know about the Lenten loophole? If you count the Sundays in Lent, there are 46 days. In order to observe 40 days of Lent, take Sunday out of the mix and enjoy all the sweets you want on that day. Whoo hoo – Coke and cookies for Sunday brunch!


Leave a Reply

Categories

